Who can forget these words (translation: “Sade, tell me; Sade, give me”) from the song Sadeness (part I) by Enigma, the German musical project founded in 1990 by Romanian-German musician and producer Michael Cretu? 

I remember listening to it so much I couldn’t get it out of my head even though I didn’t fully understand its meaning. At first, I thought it was an unusual idea that went a bit overboard and expected some type of reaction to it. The only thing that was notable was that the choir in the song was not aware of being recorded and ended up in a law suit that was settled. I was looking at it only through the artistic point of view.

I found it very original how the song combines an electronic beat with Psalms verses in Latin recited by a church choir, a woman’s heavy breathing and her sensual whispers in French. It seems that the name Sade came from the French aristocrat, Marquis de Sade. He was probably chosen because of his reputation for libertine sexuality. If you watch the video you will get a better idea of what message the song is trying to relay. It is clear to me that the song is questioning a man’s will power and judgement when it comes to choosing the direction of his sexual desire. Is the man going to follow the seductive voice of a woman he hears and sees in his sleep that tries his human emotions and lures him into pleasure by passing “The Gates of Hell” (shown by Rodin’s sculpture) or is he capable of resenting it for simpler and pure thoughts?

Watch video: https://youtu.be/4F9DxYhqmKw