This a dish you can make all year round. I made it a couple of days ago because it’s been a while since I had it. It is very healthy, economical, and easy to make. These are the steps:

Step 1: In a pot, add 16 oz. any size dried white lima beans, a medium onion cut in half, a few cloves of garlic cut in halves, and one or two carrots cut in a few pieces. I like adding more carrots because it gives the dip a more orange color in the end. Cover the pot and boil everything at low to medium heat for about 40 minutes. Taste afterwards to see if you need to boil them for longer.

20170613_153508 (1)

Step 2: Once all the vegetables are well cooked, drain the liquid and set aside. Mash them in the pot until the mixture is creamy and not runny. You may need to add some more liquid gradually if you notice that the mixture is too hard to mix. A hand mixer will make the job easier.

20170613_153635 (1)

Step 3: When everything is completely mashed, I like to add some minced garlic. You don’t have to. It depends on your taste. I also add some salt and place everything in a dish.20170613_161759 (1)

Step 4: In a pan, I sauté about a quarter of a medium onion that was chopped with a couple of tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil until it becomes brown and not burnt.20170613_162255 (1)

Step 5: I drain the onion from the olive oil and set aside. I whisk the oil in the beans mixture until it is well blended. I add another two tablespoons of oil. The oil makes the mixture creamier and combines all tastes together. You should not feel the taste of oil. Sprinkle the sautéed onion on top and wait until it cools down to be refrigerated. You may serve it cold or warm on individual plates with crackers. I like to place one serving on a plate and warm it in the microwave for about a minute before serving it.

Featured Image: http://www.pixabay.com